Irish Breakfast

In which the lengths I will go to for architecture puns are revealed

Posted in Comics by Emily on December 22, 2010

GEHHHHHRY!

So, guys, it’s the Christmas season, and I’ve been awfully good this year, and I would like nothing more than to have Frank Gehry be my archnemesis. It’s not that I particularly dislike him; rather, I think he has the ego, the eccentric brilliance and the idiosyncrasy required of a classic cartoon villain. I’d just like to mention, in case any of you were planning to get me a little something for the Holidays, the archenmity of Frank Gehry would be a nice thing to have.

Anyway, I’m sorry if this one’s a little obscure – you know what, I’m not sorry. If you end up Wikipedia-ing Mies van der Rohe because of me, and then you spend a pleasant hour clicking through various articles tangentially related to modern architecture, then YOU’RE WELCOME.

(There’s no particular reason for the sweatervestedness other than I’ve been wearing a lot of the things lately, and maybe they help me maintain my guise of being an architect at cocktail parties.)

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kashton said, on December 23, 2010 at 9:28 am

    I just have to say I LOVE YOU EMILY PURCELL.

    • Emily said, on December 23, 2010 at 11:22 am

      And now you will think of me every time you have to drive towards the Weisman museum in the afternoon.

  2. d0_op said, on December 23, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    Thank you for your wonderful pun.
    I also think that Gehry fits the villain bill and his buildings are his treacherous Lair’s.
    One question though…It is currently summer where i live and extremely hot. How do i maintain my guise of being an architect without the sweatervestedness ability?

    Amused and Concerned.

    • Emily said, on December 24, 2010 at 10:14 am

      I’m glad you agree on Gehry’s villainy! And I guess without the sweatervest you’ll have to rely on jargon and name-dropping.

  3. alan said, on January 29, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    give me order. give me good geometry. I’m losing my moorings!

    AUUUGHHH!

  4. Rachel said, on November 11, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    I feel an evil Justice League-type thing in the making: Santiago Caltrava, Zaha Hadid, etc. Antoni Gaudi needs to be involved somehow, perhaps serving as their undead guru on a mountain somewhere?

    • Emily said, on November 13, 2011 at 9:08 pm

      yes! Hmm, what’s the collective noun for villainous architects?


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,002 other followers

