Irish Breakfast

How my best friend gave me a worst enemy.

Posted in Meta by Emily on January 12, 2011

Okay, readers, I have a story for you. As you might recall, I recently posted this comic involving cartoon-Emily battling cartoon-villain-Frank Gehry. And I included the following commentary:

“So, guys, it’s the Christmas season, and I’ve been awfully good this year, and I would like nothing more than to have Frank Gehry be my archnemesis. It’s not that I particularly dislike him; rather, I think he has the ego, the eccentric brilliance and the idiosyncrasy required of a classic cartoon villain. I’d just like to mention, in case any of you were planning to get me a little something for the Holidays, the archenmity of Frank Gehry would be a nice thing to have.”

Of course, I assumed everyone reading the comicblog would take this as silly tongue-in-cheek-ness and go on with their days. Evidently I underestimated my best friend’s capacity for absurd and wonderful endeavors, for she recently presented me with this:

The tagline is great, and was totally unsolicited.

Yep. It’s the real thing. She wrote a letter, including a copy of the comic and the unsigned certificate*, and it got past the layers of security, minions and henchmen surrounding Gehry’s lair, and he replied. So it’s official, Frank Gehry and I are now archnemeses. I’m going to have it framed and I’ll hang it up next to my college diploma and my LEED AP certificate. And it’s absolutely going on my resume, and every job interview I have from now on will go something like, “Tell me a little about your qualif—” “FRANKGEHRYISMYARCHENEMY, OFFICIALLY.” So, thank you, Mr. Gehry, wherever you are……..and watch your back.

FRIDAY: The battle rages on.

*Laid out by her awesome girlfriend to resemble a Gehry-designed chair. In case it wasn’t a fantastic enough item to begin with.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jen said, on January 12, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    That’s so awesome!

  2. Will said, on January 12, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    You should probably get this notarized. Thank god Jessie is certified now.

  3. Mateo said, on January 12, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    Awesome!

  4. Herschel said, on January 12, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    This is ridiculously awesome.

  5. Jason said, on January 12, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    Wow, that’s incredible. You have great friends!! And now, a great arch-enemy!

  6. Emily said, on January 12, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Glad y’all approve of this….it makes me ridiculously happy too.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,019 other followers

