Irish Breakfast

Helpful Guide To Picking Up Urban Planners

Posted in Comics by Emily on May 26, 2011

Apologies to the lady in panel eight for having to hear that line while wearing a dress that looks like a Jello dessert.
Apologies to the lady in panel eight for having to hear that line while wearing a dress that looks like a Jello dessert.

I started coming up with these at about hour fifteen of my final paper for last semester’s class.* Hope you like `em. Leave more in the comments if your sense of humor is as twelve-year-old-esque as mine evidently is. Sorry if some of these are too jargon-y for those friends of mine who already think I’m too much of a pedant; I’d be happy to translate them into layman’s (heh, heh) terms. Or you can just add some of your own about organic chemistry or whatever.

Also, hi to the zillions of you who visited and linked to my Metro drinks comic! Clearly, the key to minor local internet fame is mocking Metro, which I’m okay with. I’m still a little overwhelmed by how many folks read that one, and, by extension, how many people will probably see this one. If any of my professors from VT are reading this, I promise I got more out of your classes than vocabulary fodder for lewd and cheesy comics! And if the bearded dude who was reading The Death and Life of Great American Cities on the S2 yesterday is reading this, you inspired panel six and that’s why I was giggling in your general direction.

If you like this level of pedantry & punning, perhaps you’ll dig the Mies van der Robot and the list of New Urbanist beers in this post.

*There should be a law or something along the lines of “After (__ hours on one project)/(___ people working on said project) in Field X, conversation will inevitably devolve into innuendo using terminology from Field X.”

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jen said, on May 26, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    What about “I’d like to develop mixed uses on YOUR property!” – though it’s very similar to Panel 2. or maybe “100% of your AMI is eligible to get into my housing development!” though I think that one could use some work.

    • Kashton said, on May 26, 2011 at 2:01 pm

      I like the last one best because I think you could use it to pick up non-planners, as long as they were urban dwellers that appreciated terrible puns. You know, for those of us who don’t use the ESRI board as a dating site.

    • Emily said, on May 26, 2011 at 3:18 pm

      I did think of “I don’t need any tax incentives to develop on YOUR brownfield!” but then I couldn’t think of any possible meanings for it that weren’t really skeevy. I like the AMI one, that’s excellent.

      • Kashton said, on May 26, 2011 at 3:45 pm

        I also noticed that according to the thing that sorts your comics by subject, you have more comics about bears than bikes.

      • Emily said, on May 26, 2011 at 4:03 pm

        bikes are harder to draw :P

      • stack said, on November 28, 2012 at 12:15 pm

        genius

  2. Aaron Detter said, on May 26, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    “Let’s go back to your place and make the Floor Area Ratio 1 to 1″

  3. Dan said, on May 27, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    Emily, we simply _must_ have you at the Cyburbia Forums. Really. Unlike the folks who gather at that other site, we really do have a sense of humor. And terrible puns.

  4. Dan said, on May 27, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Also, from 2004

    • Emily said, on May 30, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      oh wow, that thread is brilliant! I’ll have to stop by, I let my account lapse a while back but planners with a sense of humor are the best.

  5. Ligia Martins said, on May 28, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    It’s a great idea to do this comics! I’m looking to read more of them.

  6. Chris Whittaker said, on May 28, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    I want to offend your defensible space all night.

  7. Tim Maher said, on May 29, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    And to think I spent all these past months on a yellow line train sitting next to a true comic talent without knowing it. I hope you keep up the great work in Wisconsin.

  8. thgrl said, on May 30, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    *standingovation*
    man i wish i had a sense of humor like this. ive seriously been looking for something like this forever! keep em coming

  9. anu said, on May 31, 2011 at 7:27 am

    you could get some real estate lawyers with these too.

  10. Jason said, on May 31, 2011 at 9:06 am

    ‘I’ve been surveying you all night, and dont see any restrictions on your wetlands.’

  11. Vinny said, on May 31, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    How about this.

    “For you there’s no such thing as a NIMBY because I want you in my backyard.”

    • Emily said, on June 2, 2011 at 8:45 am

      Excellent, I knew there had to be a NIMBY one out there!

  12. Vinny said, on June 2, 2011 at 7:33 am

    How about.

    “I’m going to need a variance before I can do all the illegal things I want to do to you.”

  13. Drieleven said, on October 16, 2012 at 2:22 am

    I gotta apply for a variance, because I want to get into your zone.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers

