Irish Breakfast

Let’s see what’s in the beer fridge!

Posted in Comics by Emily on November 23, 2010

Pascal's Lager: One may as well believe in another round.

As you may know, my general approach to beer consumption is that I will drink anything with a hops pun in its name. Such as: Hoptimus Prime, The Pursuit of Hoppyness, Hoptical Illusion, Hopternal Emission, etc. This pretty much guarantees that the beer is sufficiently bitter for my tastes and that the brewers are sufficiently nerdy for my tastes. Anyway, my dad and I had a good time on Saturday coming up with good beer names. Not pictured: Phantom of the Hopera, Tricerahops, Hopportunity Knocks, Pullman Porter (with a red cap, natch), Hops! In the Name of Love…..I could go on. I have also been having a lively discussion on Facebook re: a series of New Urbanist themed beers. Mixed Use Shandy, High Density Oatmeal Stout, Gentrification Witbier, Aging In Place Bottle-Conditioned Ale. The Hop Fields of Kentlands might win for most nerdily obscure.

(Homebrewing friends: I will exchange any one of these names for a bottle or two.)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Elliott said, on November 30, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Good ideas! Tricerahops has been done by the lovely brewers who set up shop a block from the house I was born in. See glowing reviews:

    http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/14400/37966

    http://www.ratebeer.com/beer/ninkasi-tricerahops-double-ipa/75473/

  2. Emily said, on December 1, 2010 at 11:23 am

    oh, good! That one was too good not to have been done before. and it sounds delicious…


Comments are closed.

