Irish Breakfast

The Seven Irrational Emotions of Moving Long-Distance

Posted in Comics by Emily on July 10, 2011

the extra hour will in fact be used to wash dishes and play online Dominion
the extra hour will in fact be used to wash dishes and play online Dominion
the extra hour will in fact be used to wash dishes and play online Dominion

I realize these are technically not all emotions, and not all predicated upon a long-distance move. But I have observed all seven in a careful study of myself over the last two weeks.

In other news, I found my paper and pens in a box! Hence, this comic.

Tagged with:

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jen said, on July 10, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    OMG I’m totally going through all of those, except the free box one and the actually arriving at my destination one, right now!!! Stupid moving.

    • Emily said, on July 10, 2011 at 11:02 pm

      Stupid, stupid moving! Are you going to have roommates? I’m still giddy at the fact that I’ve been living alone for a week; I keep discovering new things I can do without consulting them (like, right now I have a big knitting project spread out on the living room floor, and it’s not in anyone’s way!)

  2. Kashton said, on July 11, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    I’m only moving a couple of miles away and I’m going through most of these emotions, as well as experiencing “Nagging feeling that if you had only searched a little longer you would have found a BETTER, CHEAPER apartment”.

    • Kashton said, on July 11, 2011 at 2:41 pm

      Also, the delusion that as soon as I move and unpack everything in a new place I will become much neater and better organized in this new apartment.

      • Emily said, on July 11, 2011 at 7:44 pm

        Ooooh, yeah, those are both good ones! There’s something about moving that makes you think it’ll make you a better person, not the same person in a new location.


Comments are closed.

