Irish Breakfast

So Long, Floor Mattress!

Posted in Comics by Emily on November 13, 2011

the mattress drawing makes it look like a giant ice cream sandwich. mmmmmmm.
the mattress drawing makes it look like a giant ice cream sandwich. mmmmmmm.
HELLO BOSTON, WE'RE SEX BOXSPRING, ARE YOU READY TO ROCK

Yeah, so, I decided to buy a new bed and mattress at about the same time I decided to take nine credits next semester, so in other words I am spending a whole lot of money right now! Whee! It does make me miss the days when I had lower standards, not to mention the days when my school expenses were covered by scholarships, grants and parental funds.

So, this is one more post in a series lovingly/mockingly remembering 1808, the quintessential sketchy college house. Probably you lived in one too. As much as I miss the minimal rent, the basement full of 8-tracks and cinder blocks, the short walk to The Tap, and of course the fabulous roommates, I’m glad I’m at a point in my life where I can make fun of the days where I was a cheapskate who lived in The Hospice For The Terminally Single (as Randy named it). Now I get to pass the old mattress on to some other cheap college student type….THE CIRCLE OF LIIIIIIIFE.

Tagged with:

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Casey said, on November 15, 2011 at 7:43 am

    How has nobody commented on this fantastic comic yet?! It’s always a hoot when Randy shows up in full FedEx regalia for the 1808 comics!

    • Emily said, on November 15, 2011 at 10:18 am

      How else would he show up? ;) I miss his FedEx fedora…

  2. Neely (@vonnegurl) said, on November 15, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    Oh, the sex mattress! It actually ended up staying with me up until I lived in my studio apartment. Good times. I’d totally forgotten you slept on the box spring ha ha

    • Emily said, on November 15, 2011 at 2:52 pm

      Hahaha, I can’t believe you kept it….but hey, it was free! I actually can’t remember whether the box spring I slept on came with the sex mattress or not, but it’s funnier that way. We’ve come a long way….


Comments are closed.

