Irish Breakfast

This Is Approximately How I Experience Sports

Posted in Comics by Emily on December 12, 2011

FOOOOOOTBALLLLL
FOOOOOOTBALLLLL

I dunno, this is like the Eighteen Stages of Football Acceptance or something. I have realized since moving here that being a non-sports fan in Wisconsin is like being an atheist in a really religious town; every Sunday everyone you know goes off somewhere and chants and you keep forgetting it’s a big day for everyone and wondering why the stores are closed. Unlike with religion, though, you can let yourself get converted to sportsism because, what the heck, there’s free booze in it for you. You just have to put up with the bits where you can’t figure out what the hell is going on, and the commercials for cheap beer and diamond rings (I know perfectly awesome people who buy these products, but the advertising during football games is aimed right at the douchebro market). Anyway, if I needed a reason that Wisconsin is better than my previous home of D.C., there’s the fact that our teams win stuff.

Tagged with:

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rachidian said, on December 13, 2011 at 12:35 am

    Time for some
    FOO
    TBA
    LL!
    Fuck yeah!

    And I’d take apple pucker over Coors Light any day. Gross.

    ALSO: The Capitals totally win stuff. People in DC are really into hockey, but mostly because our baseball, basketball, and football teams are terrible.

    • Emily said, on December 13, 2011 at 10:08 am

      FUCK YEAH! Hmm, I hear we have a hockey team here. I don’t know anything about them.


Comments are closed.

