Irish Breakfast

#30DaysOfComics 29. Cookie Graph

Posted in Comics by Emily on February 13, 2014

cookiegraph

This is kind of cheating because it’s not a comic and I already shared it on facebook/twitter a month or so ago, so if you’re in the big overlapping demographic of “Irish Breakfast readers” and “my facebook friends,” you’ve probably seen it. Whatever, I like it, and I’m going to include my favorite cookie recipe, which inspired it. This is from a book called The Washington Cookbook, which was sold to benefit the Washington Opera and includes a lot of high society ladies’ recipes; if Google informs me correctly, this was submitted by one Mrs. [World Bank Economist]. Yeah, there are a lot of Mrs. [Husband’s First And Last Name] names in here, the cookbook is slightly older than me. It also has some nice illustrations of DC landmarks, and I appreciate that a former roommate left it in our house, or else I never would have come across this cookie recipe!

Crispy Coconut Cookies

1/2 C Butter

1/2 C White Sugar

1/2 Brown Sugar

1 egg, beaten

1 tsp vanilla

1 C flour

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1/2 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 C cornflakes, slightly crushed

1 C shredded coconut (sweetened and unsweetened work equally well)

Blend the butter and sugar together, then add the vanilla and egg. Stir the flour, salt, baking soda & baking powder together, then blend them into the wet ingredients. Then mix in the cornflakes and coconut.

Drop cookies by the teaspoonful onto a greased cookie sheet (I prefer parchment paper to greasing a cookie sheet, but both work!). Bake at 325 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

The original recipe in my book calls for cornflakes OR rice krispies. I tried the latter when the store was out of cornflakes, and they were fine, but the corn flavor gives it a little something extra. I got the Smitten Kitchen cookbook for Christmas last year, and plan to make the Buttered Popcorn Cookies recipe in it soon, and I realized popcorn might be an interesting substitute for the cornflakes (or conversely, coconut might be a good addition to the popcorn cookies recipe).

Anyway, I love these, and the coconut flavor isn’t super strong but coconut haters could probably find something else to include in place of that cup of coconut. Enjoy!

Tagged with: ,

Comments Off on #30DaysOfComics 29. Cookie Graph

