Irish Breakfast

#30DaysOfComics 30. Happy Valentine’s Day, Internet

Posted in Comics by Emily on February 14, 2014

paper doilies were a fun vday crafts discovery
i don't have wineglasses, a mug would be more accurate

Hey, it’s a holiday, and the end of 30DaysOfComics, I did not plan that coincidence but I like it! Also, I will probably not drink and cry tonight, I will probably hang out with friends or go see some music, or something. But, I mean it, the more webcomics I read the happier my Valentine’s day is. So many adorable love puns and beloved characters gettin’ shmoopy with each other.

30DaysOfComics has been fun! Sometimes a pain to get stuff done, but I have learned a few things. For one thing, if I take a dumb idea and run with it, sometimes it turns out good! Sometimes it stays dumb but usually it can improve itself. Also, I love drawing backgrounds but they take sooo looong. Scribbling some color on is much quicker and works for the purposes of separating text from quick-drawn lines, so I should remember I can do that, if I ever feel like I want to make something but it’s gonna take foreverrrr to do it “right.” Also, drawing something every day uses up more paper than you would think!

The looming spectre of this semester getting busy is now upon us, but I’m optimistic that having done this month of sticking to a schedule will keep my art-brain in gear – if nothing else, it reminded me that sometimes it only takes 15 minutes to scribble down something funny that happened to me that I might want to remember.

I hope y’all enjoyed the last 6 weeks of these things! Thanks for reading.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Patricia said, on February 14, 2014 at 11:57 am

    Thank you, Emily. I’ve always enjoyed your comics. You make me laugh, brighten my day, and you’re so much like me. I’m creative, but had to get boring-ass jobs to support myself. I’m only mildly successful, but don’t have a lot of energy and now have chronic medical issues. The ship of happiness has sailed, and I totally missed it. I’m 52, and trying to stay out of a wheelchair. I have spinal shit, and other things, but was always accused of being lazy and lying. X-rays and MRIs don’t lie. I’m doomed. When the pain gets too bad, I’m going to end it.

    Valentine’s Day sucks. I’ve been in a relationship for 11 years and support his ass, financially. He never gets me anything, but I always get a card for him, at least. Sometimes, I think it would be better to be alone. He tells me what to do all the time, in the house that I own. He is one of the most ignorant people I’ve ever known but I love him, and he loves me. I have really low self-esteem. Does it show?

    • Emily said, on February 14, 2014 at 1:31 pm

      thanks for the comment, it is great to know you enjoy reading! I hope you get to treat yourself to something nice today, if you don’t get something nice from your partner. Like I said I love that about the internet…there are so many folks out there making and sharing sweet things without even knowing you.

      do you read Captain Awkward? (http://captainawkward.com/) If you’re ever looking for advice or sympathy, the commenters there are some of the nicest & funniest folks on the internet (and they never say “are you sure you’re not making it up?”) I also love Please Stop Being Sad (http://pleasestopbeingsad.tumblr.com/) – kind words with adorable animals! Just in case you need more day-brighteners <3

  2. laurajosephineauthor said, on February 15, 2014 at 5:59 pm

    Totally the right attitude to have about Valentines Day!

    • Emily said, on February 17, 2014 at 9:29 am

      I think so! It’s a fun holiday if it doesn’t make you sad.


Comments are closed.

